Where every Family matters!
Past issuesFeeds Facebook Twitter Contact

How to interpret TV ratings: An explanation of the Federal Communications Commission ratings

Share on TwitterTweet
Share on Facebook

Don’t miss our updates:

Here are Dr. Strohman’s explanations of Federal Communications Commission (FCC) ratings.

Ratings directed towards children:

TV-Y: These programs are not expected to frighten or upset young children as they are specifically designed for viewers between the ages of 2 and 6.

TV-Y7: These programs feature fantasy that young children may not have the developmental skills to understand and are typically not appropriate for children under 7. The make-believe plot lines are more likely to frighten young children.

Ratings directed toward general audience:

TV-G: These are not “specifically” geared toward children, but they are appropriate for all ages by most parents. They do not contain excessive violence, expletives, or sexual references.

TV-PG: These programs may contain some violence, some suggestive or sexual material, and occasional strong language. They are likely not appropriate for young children to watch unattended, but are acceptable for older children.

TV-14: Parents are cautioned to not allow children under 14 to view these programs without supervision. These programs might include overtly sexual situations, inappropriate dialogue, indecent language, or graphic violence.

Updated 5:02 pm, July 9, 2018
Top stories:
Share on TwitterTweet
Share on Facebook

Don’t miss our updates:

View the latest issues of our print publications, including Brooklyn Family, Manhattan Family, Bronx/Riverdale Family, Queens Family, and our Special Child magazines

Connect with local moms

Join our Facebook sisterhood, and find moms in your neighborhood for advice, community, and support!

Don’t miss out!

Sign up for our e-newsletter to be the first to know about new contests, hot topics and the best family events.

Optional: Fill out your info and you could win tickets to family friendly shows!